Adam Reynolds looks tremendous value to win the Clive Churchill Medal in his last game in Souths colours. Here are The Wolf’s Clive Churchill Medal tips.

Check out The Wolf’s complete NRL Grand Final Tips here.


Adam Reynolds

Clive Churchill Medal Winner

The Clive Churchill Medal has developed a very clear profile over the years. The award has never been won by an outside back. A hooker has not won the award since 2006. Middle forwards have a decent record but it has typically been claimed by a half or a fullback, usually from the winning side. The winner has, with very few exceptions, played state or international football before winning the award. That makes Adam Reynolds an excellent bet and suggests a Souths win will see either him or Cody Walker ($6.50) win the award. Reynolds at $17 is far greater value. Reynolds has played twice for NSW. He has an exceptional kicking game and is one of the best goalkickers of the modern era, two characteristics that are heightened in a low-scoring game. His seven assists and five tries as well as his NRL-leading 174 line engagements show he plays a major role in the Souths attack.


Nathan Cleary

Clive Churchill Medal Winner

If Penrith win the Grand Final, Nathan Cleary looks almost certain to win the Clive Churchill Medal after back-to-back runner-up finishes in the Dally M Medal. Cleary ticks every box as the current NSW halfback and widely regarded as one of the best playmakers in the game. He shows up on the paddock and in the statistics and has such a hand in everything the Panthers do that it would take an exceptional performance from a teammate to pinch this if the Panthers win.


Tom Burgess

Clive Churchill Medal Winner

Middle forwards have a reasonable record in the Clive Churchill Medal. Forwards have won eight of the last 20 awards with six of those going to running forwards. Burgess ticks the rep football box having played 29 Tests for England/Great Britain. Burgess has topped 200 running metres in two of his last three games and has multiple tackle breaks in nine of his last 11.

For more, check out The Wolf’s NRL Grand Final Preview here.