Perth Cup

Friday January 1st 2016

Perth Cup betting

Perth Cup

There’s one group of people in Western Australia for whom New Year’s Eve is no raucous night on the tiles until dawn appears (although this group certainly have plenty of experience seeing the sun come up). New Year’s Day in Perth is also Perth Cup Day, so while for some it’s a day of topping up from the night before, for the trainers, jockeys, strappers, stewards and racing journos (well, maybe not the racing journos) it’s a day of hard work and sobriety. Yawn.

The Perth Cup is a Group 2 event and up until 2008 it was run over the classic Cup distance of 3,200m, but since 2009 the distance has been brought back to 2,400m. And it’s lucky for the horses – one of the reasons Perth Cup betting is so damn exciting is that running any metres at all in Perth in January is a big ask. This is why backing something with plenty of ticker (and that’s not too hung-over) is crucial when weighing up Perth Cup odds.

When is the Perth Cup 2016?

The Perth Cup will be held on Friday January 1st 2016, at Ascot Racecourse in Perth (of course).

Facts about the Perth Cup

  • Champion horse Rogan Josh ran second to King Of Saxony in 1999 – the same year he won the Melbourne Cup.
  • In the 2011-’12 season, the Perth Cup was held on New Year’s Eve instead of New Year’s Day for the first and so far only time.
  • A total of seven horses have won two Perth Cups, so don’t be shy of last year’s runners when looking at the placing a bet.

Register Now to Join Sportsbet

Winners of the Perth Cup

Below is a list of Perth Cup Winners and Perth Cup runners up in the past few years:

Year Winner Second Third Time
2015 Real Love Red Blast Kirov Boy 2:29.94
2014 Black Tycoon God Has Spoken Ask Me Nicely 2:31.3
2013 Talent Show Mr Moet Global Flirt 2:29.7
2012 Western Jewel God Has Spoken Senhor Da Gama 2:28.2
2011 Guest Wing Guyno Simply Adorable 2:27.5
2010 Lords Ransom Ma Chienne Largo Lad 2:30.6
2009 Guyno The Fuzz Ballack 2:25.9
2008 Cats Fun Exhilerating Westerly Breeze 3:21.6
2007 Respect Bay Story Rossam 3:21.0
2006 Black Tom Master Minx Early Express 3:18.8
2005 Crown Prosecutor Free At Last Black Tom 3:21.4
2004 King Canute Indigo King Higgins Gold 3:23.7
2003 Tumeric So Canny Bold Mirage 3:23.0
2002 Cardinal Colours Give Me A Chance Shoeless 3:25.9
2001 Lottila Bay Moonrise King Brian 3:25.6
2000 Lunar Tudor Victory Morn Matriculate 3:21.0

If you would like to bet on the Perth Cup, see the latest Perth Cup Odds and place a bet with Join us now if you haven’t got an account and get in on the action!

What happened in the 2014 Perth Cup?

Western Australian racing’s most famous export, Damien Oliver, won the Perth Cup for the second time, this time on Black Tycoon. The horse went on to be unplaced in two Listed races in WA before a tenacious second in the Group 2 Adelaide Cup.

If you fancy a Perth Cup bet, join Sportsbet now and check out the Perth Cup odds.


Perth Cup Bonus Bet

Not a member of and looking to punt on the Perth Cup? Then pick up a Perth Cup bonus bet with

We’re offering a bonus bet of up to $100* on your initial deposit! Click “Join Now” and take advantage of this great offer today and claim your Perth Cup Bet!

All you need to do is:

  • Click on Join Now
  • Sign up using the Registration page
  • Deposit some funds
  • Receive your Bonus Bet offer
  • And we will offer you a bonus bet up to $100*

*Terms and Conditions: This bonus bet up to $100 offer is exclusive to this page and banner only. Gamble Responsibly. Bonus bet excludes residents of VIC, NSW, WA, SA. If you have any questions or queries, please call our customer service on 1800 990 907.