2017 Telstra Premiership NRL Grand Finals


NRL Finals Betting

With the top eight NRL sides playing off over three weeks to determine the season’s grand finalists, NRL Finals betting is about as good as it gets. The play-offs now resemble the simpler AFL system, which is good because, y’know, who really wants to break a sweat just trying to work out who plays whom. Basically, two teams are eliminated per week until there’s only two left. Chances are, even if your team’s not in the mix, there’s going to be at least one in there you loathe deeply enough to bet against – it’s about going in with a positive attitude!

The refurbished play-offs system lands NRL Finals odds deservedly in favour of top-four sides. But never rule anyone out. In NRL Finals there will be no repeat of the 2008 New Zealand Warriors’ eighth spot upset of the minor premiers Melbourne Storm in week one, but lower-ranked sides hitting form in the latter rounds of the regular season can be dream-smashers for higher-ranked teams.

2017 NRL Finals odds

NRL Finals Format

The NRL Finals games are contested over three weeks. Week one sees the top four clubs playing what are called Qualifying Finals (QF) - first versus fourth in the first QF and second versus third in the second QF. Team five through eight face off in the equivalent Elimination Finals (EF) - five versus eight and sixth versus seventh.

NRL Finals Format - NRL Finals Betting Odds - Sportsbet.com.au

Most Appearances in the NRL Finals

Since 1954, the Manly Seas Eagles have made the most Finals appearances of any Rugby League Club currently involved in the NRL. The Sea Eagles’ 38 Finals appearances is well above that of closest rivals the Eels and Bulldogs, who have 25 apiece. While the Sea Eagles did not have the best start in the NRL – missing Finals between 1999 and 2004 – the club has been a permanent fixture in the top eight and Finals action since 2005.

Since the NRL-proper in 1998, the Brisbane Broncos have the best Finals appearance record. Out of a possible 14 NRL finals campaigns, the Broncos have missed just the one in 2010. Non-NRL club St George Dragons made 33 finals between 1954 and 1998, with an astonishing 20 straight between 1954 and 1973. Now they're some dragons even George R. R. Martin would be proud of!

If you would like a punt on NRL Finals, Join Sportsbet.com.au today if you haven't got an account join in the action.

Facts about the NRL Finals

  • In 2012, the NRL’s former McIntyre finals system was dropped in favour of the AFL play-offs format.
  • With 38 appearances since 1954, the Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles have the most NRL Finals appearances of any club currently involved in the comp.
  • St George Dragons made an astonishing 20-straight NRL Finals between 1954 and 1973.

If you fancy a NRL Finals bet, join Sportsbet now and check out the NRL Finals odds.