Get a First Bet Bonus up to $100 (excl VIC,NSW,WA,SA) Find out more

New to Sportsbet? Join Now

Get a First Bet Bonus up to $100 (excludes VIC, NSW, WA, SA)

Bet Slip Bet Slip Help

NAB Challenge

NAB Challenge Betting - February - March 2016

NAB Challenge

After patiently counting down the days since last season’s Grand Final, footy is finally back! Well, sort of. There’s nothing at stake, and nobody really cares, but that doesn’t matter; any footy is better than no footy at all. It’s time for the NAB Challenge.

The AFL’s pre-season competition has changed since its inception – doing away with the tournament format for the 2014 home and away season in favour of a series of practice matches – just like playing Under 10s! We joke, of course, and while there’s not quite as much on the line, there’s still plenty for fans to look out for – particularly game time for new youngsters, new elements to team structures and new ways to screw the game up by the Laws of the Game committee. Seriously, just leave the game alone you flogs!

Register Now to Join Sportsbet

NAB Challenge Winners and Runners Up

The title of most successful AFL side in pre-season/NAB Challenge history over the past decade is shared by four clubs. The Crows, the Saints, the Blues and the Cat all have two to their name since 2002.

The pre-season- premiership double is an elusive title. Since 1988 – the start of the pre-season era – only five clubs have achieved the milestone; Hawthorn (1988 and 1991), Essendon (1993 and 2000) and most recently Geelong in 2009.

Season Winner Runner Up
2013 Brisbane Carlton
2013 Brisbane Carlton
2012 Adelaide West Coast
2011 Collingwood Essendon
2010 Western Bulldogs St Kilda
2009 Geelong Collingwood
2008 St Kilda Adelaide
2007 Carlton Brisbane Lions
2006 Geelong Adelaide
2005 Carlton West Coast
2004 St Kilda Geelong
2003 Adelaide Collingwood
2002 Port Adelaide Richmond
2001 Port Adelaide Brisbane Lions
2000 Essendon North Melbourne

If NAB Challenge betting is your thing, why don’t you join us at today!

NAB Challenge Fast Facts

  • The AFL trialled 18-straight games over 18 consecutive days, like some sort of football equivalent of speed dating. Only four sides went through undefeated: Hawthorn, West Coast, Adelaide and Geelong.
  • NAB is only the pre-season’s most recent sponsor. Before that the competition was known as the Ansett Cup and, for four years, the Wizard Home Loans Cup. Catchy.
  • Even when it was a tournament, going well in the NAB Challenge was no guarantee of a strong season. In 2007, Carlton won and finished 15th, and in 2013 Brisbane won and finished 12th. That’s awkward.

If you fancy a NAB Challenge bet, join Sportsbet now and check out the NAB Challenge odds.