Get a First Bet Bonus up to $100 (excl VIC,NSW,WA,SA) Find out more

New to Sportsbet? Join Now

Get a First Bet Bonus up to $100 (excludes VIC, NSW, WA, SA)

Bet Slip Bet Slip Help
Melbourne Cup 2016 Odds & Betting

Melbourne Cup 2016 Odds & Betting

Tuesday 1st November 2016

Register for Melbourne Cup 2016 betting

Melbourne Cup 2016

Flemington | 3200m | Group 1 | Open Handicap | $6,200,000Tuesday, 1st November 2016

In Turkmenistan, the musk melon is tremendously important. So important, that the country’s president declared a public holiday to enjoy the fruit. We laugh, yet in Victoria they get a day off to watch 24 miniature men in silk pyjamas ride horses in a circle. Ironically, everyone else dresses up in their Sunday (or Tuesday) best to watch the pyjama horse racing. The ACT also has ‘Melbourne Cup Day’ but in an attempt to pretend it’s not a celebration of men in pyjamas riding ponies it’s called ‘Family & Community Day’. Lovingly referred to as the ‘Race that Stops the Nation’, the Melbourne Cup is the richest and most prestigious horse race in Australia and the jewel in the Melbourne Spring Carnival’s crown.

The race itself is run over 3200m at Flemington racecourse and is contested by a large field of 24 gallopers on the first Tuesday of November. Being the pinnacle of the sport in Australia (and renowned around the world) the list of Melbourne Cup winners includes many of the Australian racings legends like Archer, Carbine, Phar Lap, Peter Pan, Rain Lover and the Melbourne Cup champion of champions, Makybe Diva.

Register to bet on the Melbourne Cup 2016

Past winners of the Melbourne Cup

Below is a list of horses who have won the Melbourne Cup in the past few years:

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Time
2015 Prince Of Penzance Michelle Payne Darren Weir 3.23.1
2014 Protectionist Ryan Moore Andreas Wohler 3:17.71
2013 Fiorente Damien Oliver Gai Waterhouse 3.20.30
2012 Green Moon B Prebble Robert Hickmott 3:20.4
2011 Dunaden Christophe Lemaire Mikel Delzangles 3.20.84
2010 Americain Gérald Mossé Alain de Royer-Dupre 3.26.87
2009 Shocking Corey Brown Mark Kavanagh 3.23.87
2008 Viewed Blake Shinn Bart Cummings 3.20.40
2007 Efficient Michael Rodd Graeme Rogerson 3.23.34
2006 Delta Blues Yasunari Iwata Katsuhiko Sumii 3.21.47
2005 Makybe Diva Glen Boss Lee Freedman 3.19.17
2004 Makybe Diva Glen Boss Lee Freedman 3.28.55
2003 Makybe Diva Glen Boss David Hall 3.19.90
2002 Media Puzzle Damien Oliver Dermot K. Weld 3.16.97
2001 Ethereal Scott Seamer Sheila Laxon 3.21.08
2000 Brew Kerrin McEvoy Mike Moroney 3.18.68
1999 Rogan Josh John Marshall Bart Cummings 3.19.64

Join us now if you haven’t got an account and get in on the action!

Melbourne Cup 2016 Race Day Schedule

If you are travelling to Flemington Racecourse for Cup Day, make sure to be there before 10am to ensure that you get a good place to set yourself up for a whole day of racing! The Melbourne Cup race is the 7th race of the day, at 3.00pm. It has $6.2 million at stake, and 3200m of battling it out for first place, which also sets it up to be the biggest day of the year in the racing calendar!

Race Name Prize Money Type Distance
Emirates Airlines Plate $151,500 2YO Fillies SW (N/C) 1000m trophy $101,500 Mares Hcp (N/C) 1700m
Melbourne Plate $101,500 Rtg 0-95 Hcp (N/C) 2800m
Lavazza Short Black/td>

$101,500 4&5YO Rtg 0-90 Hcp (No Greys) 1400m
Schweppes #flemingtonfling $101,500 3YO SW&P (N/C) 1000m
Lexus Hybrid Plate $151,500 3YO Fillies SW&P (N/C) 1400m
Emirates Melbourne Cup $6,200,000 Hcp (N/C) 3200m
James Boag’s Symphony Stakes $151,500 Hcp (N/C) 1800m
MSS Security Sprint $151,500 Hcp (N/C) 1200m
Hong Kong Jockey Club Stakes $101,500 Mares SW&P (N/C) 1400m

If you fancy a Melbourne Cup bet, join Sportsbet now and check out Melbourne Cup 2016 betting odds.

2014 Melbourne Cup results

Horse Trainer(s) Jockey Weight Barrier Place
1 Admire Rakti (JPN) Tomoyuki Umeda (JPN) Zac Purton 58.5 kg 8 22
2 Cavalryman (GB) Saeed bin Suroor (UAE) Craig Williams 57 kg 3 SCR
3 Fawkner Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall 57 kg 9 10
4 Red Cadeaux (GB) Ed Dunlop (GB) Gérald Mossé (FR) 57 kg 15 2
5 Protectionist (GER) Andreas Wohler (GER) Ryan Moore (GB) 56.5 kg 11 1
6 Sea Moon (GB) Robert Hickmott Tommy Berry 56.5 kg 18 SCR
7 Seismos (IRE) Marco Botti (GB) Craig Newitt 56 kg 1 9
8 Junoob (GB) Chris Waller (NZ) Hugh Bowman 55.5 kg 7 8
9 Royal Diamond (IRE) Johnny Murtagh (IRE) Steven Arnold 55.5 kg 6 20
10 Gatewood (GB) John Gosden (GB) William Buick (GB) 55 kg 21 12
11 Mutual Regard (IRE) Johnny Murtagh (IRE) Damien Oliver 55 kg 12 14
12 Who Shot Thebarman (NZ) Chris Waller (NZ) Glen Boss 55 kg 13 3
13 Willing Foe (US) Saeed bin Suroor (UAE) James McDonald 55 kg 17 5
14 My Ambivalent (IRE) Roger Varian (GB) Andrea Atzeni (ITA) 54.5 kg 4 17
15 Precedence (NZ) Bart Cummings &

James Cummings

Michael Rodd 54.5 kg 19 6
16 Brambles (NZ) Peter Moody Luke Nolen 54 kg 20 15
17 Mr O’Ceirin (NZ) Michael Moroney Chad Schofield 54 kg 18 21
18 Au Revoir (IRE) André Fabre (FR) Glyn Schofield 53.5 kg 22 8
19 Lidari (FR) Peter Moody Ben Melham 53.5 kg 10 19
20 Opinion (IRE) Chris Waller (NZ) Tye Angland 53.5 kg 14 11
21 Araldo (GB) Michael Moroney Dwayne Dunn 53 kg 23 7
22 Lucia Valentina (NZ) Kris Lees Kerrin McEvoy 53 kg 2 13
23 Unchain My Heart David Hayes &

Tom Dabernig

Tommy Berry 51.5 kg 5 16
24 Signoff (IRE) Darren Weir João Moreira (BRA) 51 kg 16 4

Melbourne Cup Fast Facts

  • The winner of the first Melbourne Cup in 1861 received a gold watch. We weren’t aware that horses could tell the time. Last year’s combined prize money was $6.2 million.
  • Makybe Diva is the horse with the most legs, so-to-speak, winning the Melbourne Cup on three successive occasions.
  • The late and legendary trainer JB (Bart) Cummings holds the record for the number of Melbourne Cup winners with 12. He must also have accrued quite a few gold watches.

If you fancy a Melbourne Cup bet, join Sportsbet now and check out the Melbourne Cup odds.


Melbourne Cup 2015 Tips

Our racing expert Gerard Twomey has tipped the last four Melbourne Cup winners and last year he even tipped four of the top five (He’s basically the Bradman of Melbourne Cup tips). You could do a whole lot worse than follwoing the great man as he aims to make it five from five and he’s serious about it too. Don’t believe us? Watch the video! Here are the G-Man’s tips for the 2015 Melbourne Cup.

If you don’t have time to watch (it only goes for 2:30 and is funny AF) we’ve listed the G-Man’s selections for you below. Seriously though, watch the bloody video.

  • Top Pick: Preferment – He’s beaten the handicapper by winning the Turnbull Stakes since the release of the weights, he won the VRC Derby last year, loves Flemington, crying out for the two-mile, trained by Chris Waller, likes being ridden by Hugh Bowman – really keen on him.
  • 2nd Pick: Amralah – Strong Staying performance in the Herbert Power, missed the start, made two runs, ran very fast times and drops five kilos into the big one.
  • Roughie: Gust of Wind – Ran fourth in the Caulfield Cup, won the AJC Oaks in the Autumn, she’s much better suited to Flemington and is definately over the odds.
  • Worth a mention: Trip To Paris – Got an undeniable chance. Ran second in the Caulfield Cup. English stayer much better suited up to the 3200m.

So there you have it, our Melbourne Cup 2015 tips. Straight from the horses mouth. Kind of.