Get 2 bets for the price of 1 up to $100(ex Vic & NSW) Find out more

New to Sportsbet?

Get a First Bet Bonus
up to $100 (ex VIC & NSW)

Bet Slip Bet Slip Help

Lightning Stakes

Lightning Stakes - Saturday February 15th 2014

Lightning Stakes betting

Lightning Stakes

Thunder follows lightning, and true to its name, the Lightning Stakes holds host to a thunderous pack of thoroughbreds. With $500,000 up for grabs, this annual race will next occur on Saturday 15th of February 2014, as part of the Melbourne Autumn Carnival. It is Australia’s only Group 1 race, run over the 1000m distance. The great Black Caviar, won the Lightning Stakes three years in a row, 2011, 2012 and 2013.

Check out the latest Lightning Stakes odds and have a bet today.

When is the Lightning Stakes 2014?

The Lightning Stakes will be held on Saturday February 15th 2014, at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne.

Facts about the Lightning Stakes

  • With an average price of $16.80, five Lightning Stakes winners have won at double figures since 1983.
  • Four out of 10 Lightning Stakes Favourites have won in the past 10 years, with an average price of $2.40.
  • Five out of 10 Lightning Stakes Favourites have failed to place in the past 10 years, with an average price of $3.08.

First run in 1955, the Lightning Stakes attracts Australia’s fastest sprinters. Run annually, the Lightning Stakes are held in February, as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival. With Group 1 status, this weight-for-age race is run over a distance of 1000m, with prize-money reaching $500,000. Held at the prestigious Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne, it is one of the most anticipated sprint races of the season.

Over the years, the Australia Stakes has been taken out by ‘cream of the crop’ sprinters, demonstrated by recent winners included Black Caviar (2011-2010), Apache Cat (2008) and Miss Andretti (2007).

Flemington’s 1000m straight is where the Lightning Stakes takes place and, with no turns involved- meaning barrier draw are not as important as the longer races – it’s just about who’s got the pace on the day! Precursors in Lightning Stakes Betting are those horses who have run well on the home straight in previous events.

Moonee Valley’s Group 2 Australia Stakes is a typical lead up race to this event, being raced under the same-weight-for age and being a sprinters event, Black Caviar won both in 2012 and Redelva did it in 1990.

Lightning Stakes Betting Offers

Winners of the Lightning Stakes

Below is a list of Lightning Stakes Winners and Lightning Stakes runners up in the past few years:

Year Winner Second Third Time
2013 Black Caviar Moment Of Change Golden Archer 0:55.4
2012 Black Caviar Hay List Buffering 0:55.5
2011 Black Caviar Hay List Warm Love 0:57.2
2010 Nicconi Wanted Shellscrape 0:57.1
2009 Scenic Blast Typhoon Zed Grand Duels 0:56.9
2008 Apache Cat Swick Stanzout 0:57.3
2007 Miss Andretti Magnus Ticklish 0:57.2
2006 Takeover Target Gods Own Cape Of Good Hope 0:56.8
2005 Fastnet Rock Alinghi Cape Of Good Hope 0:57.3
2004 Regimental Gal Our Egyptian Raine Mistegic 0:57.0
2003 Choisir Spinning Hill Azevedo 0:56.9
2002 Spinning Hill Mistegic Chong Tong 0:57.1
2001 Sports Black Bean Easy Rocking 0:57.0
2000 Testa Rossa Falvelon Magic Music 0:56.0

If you would like to bet on the Lightning Stakes, see the latest Lightning Stakes Odds and place a bet with Join us now if you haven’t got an account and get in on the action!

Flemington Racecourse

Immersed in a culture of traditional beauty, with a strong depth of style, Flemington Racecourse is well known for its wide lawns and stunning rose gardens. Flemington Racecourse earned a nationwide notoriety by hosting the first Melbourne Cup in 1861, 20 years after Flemington opened in 1840. The Melbourne Cups continued success, taking it to the worldwide stage, is now one of the richest and exclusive races in the world.

It also has the title of Australia’s largest racecourse; the perimeter is measured at a vast 2312m. It is set out with the track being pear-shaped, and has the well-known ‘straight six’- a 1200m or six-furlong long straight, allowing sprints to be run in a straight line.

The new members grandstand, completed in 2000, is a $46M facility and delivers world-class comforts within the five-tiered member’s grandstand. It has approximately 6900 viewing seats, and is at the forefront of betting with a state-of-the-art bettor’s lounge. It includes a member’s level, overlooking the trackside, making for a breathtaking racecourse view, with three major grandstands and a capacity that can accommodate over 120,000.

If you fancy a Lightning Stakes bet, join Sportsbet now and check out the 2014 Lightning Stakes odds.

Most Successful at the Lightning Stakes

The prestigious Bart Cummings holds the record for the most successful trainer in the Lightning Stakes, his record stands at a formidable eight wins. Lee Freedman broke his own record with a sixth win, riding the extremely successful Miss Andretti in 2007, while Damien Oliver and Harry White share the second placed podium with four apiece.

The back to back winners of the Lightning Stakes read like a ‘who’s who’ in the sprinting world, Sky High (1961-62), Wenona Girl (1963-64), Maybe Mahal (1977-78), Schillaci (1992-93) Mahogany -(special mention, as wins were broken by a year (1995-97)) and the world famous – best sprinter in the world – Black Caviar (2011-2012-2013). It will be interesting to see who wins the Lightning Stakes 2014 now that Black Caviar has retired.

If you fancy a Lightning Stakes bet, join Sportsbet now.

Lightning Stakes Free Bet

Not a member of and looking to punt on the Lightning Stakes? Then pick up a Lightning Stakes free bet with

We’re offering a free bet of up to $100* on your initial deposit! Click “Join Now” and take advantage of this great offer today and claim your Lightning Stakes Bet!

All you need to do is:

  • Click on Join Now
  • Sign up using the Registration page
  • Deposit some funds
  • Receive your Free Bet offer
  • And we will offer you a free bet up to $100*

*Terms and Conditions: This free bet up to $100 offer is exclusive to this page and banner only. This offer excludes Victorian and New South Wales Residents. If you have any questions or queries, please call our customer service on 1800 990 907.