Join Now

Quick, easy, safe, and secure.

New to Sportsbet?

Get a First Bet Bonus
up to $100 (excludes VIC)

Bet Slip Bet Slip Help

Geelong Cup

Bet on the Geelong Cup - Wednesday October 22nd 2014

Geelong Cup

As Melbourne Cup preview races go, they don’t get more honest than the Geelong Cup. The Group 3, 2400m, open handicap race on October 23rd, at Geelong Racecourse is a country race with Group 1, metropolitan inspiration. With the past two winners, Americain in 2010 and Dunaden in 2011, going on to win the Melbourne Cup, this country cup has the attention of punters, international trainers and racing royalty alike. This year the total prize purse is $300,000.

Check out the latest Geelong Cup odds and have a bet today.

When is the Geelong Cup 2014?

The Geelong Cup will be held on Wednesday October 22nd 2014, at Geelong Racecourse in Victoria.

Facts about the Geelong Cup

  • The only multiple Geelong Cup winners are: Camerine (1986, 1987) and Roseview (1912, 1914).
  • The Geelong Cup is an official public holiday in the City of Geelong.

Dating back to 1872, the Geelong Cup had its beginnings as a 16 furlong principal race. In 1979, it became a listed race and has been a Group 3 fixture since 2002.

The Geelong Cup is the preferred Melbourne Cup warm up event for international stayers. The only horses to claim the now coveted Geelong Cup-Melbourne Cup double are overseas Champions; Media Puzzle, Americain and Dunaden.

The excitement that surrounds the Geelong Cup-Melbourne Cup double began in 2002. Dermot Weld – trained Media Puzzle was the first horse to claim the set and the connection between the two races since has been phenomenal. In 2003, She’s Archie ran second in both races, while Geelong Cup winner, Zazzman, place third at the Melbourne Cup in 2004. In 2005, On a Jeune was runner up in the Melbourne Cup after victory at Geelong. In 2008, Geelong Cup victor Bauer went on to finish second in the Melbourne Cup. In

With the winner granted automatic entry into the Melbourne Cup, you can bet Geelong Cup is on the cards for the world’s best stayers in 2014.

Geelong Cup Betting Offers

Winners of the Geelong Cup

Below is a list of Geelong Cup Winners and Geelong Cup runners up in the past few years:

Year Winner Second Third Time
2013 Ibicenco Verdant Moudre -
2012 Gatewood Chateau Margaux Brigantin 2:34.1
2011 Dunaden Tanby Bauer 2:30.1
2010 Americain Moudre Exceptionally 2:30.3
2009 Leica Ding Dandaad Sterling Prince 2:27.5
2008 Bauer Moatize Magic Instinct 2.30:1
2007 The Fuzz Zavite Desert Master 2:27.0
2006 Mandela Vanquished Dacs Back 2:28.2
2005 On A Jeune Brave Lancer Men At Work 2:26.7
2004 Pacific Dancer Devastating Diamond Jake 2:26.5
2003 Zazzman Shes Archie Tumeric 2:30.0
2002 Media Puzzle Requiem Donarch 2:25.9
2001 Karasi Maythehorsebewithu Scrumptious 2:32.0
2000 Savrocca Apache King Bulkhead 2:29.9

If you would like to bet on the Geelong Cup, see the latest Geelong Cup Odds and place a bet with Join us now if you haven’t got an account and get in on the action!

Geelong Racecourse

Racing on the Geelong Racecourse as it stands today, began in 1908. Under the operation of the Geelong Racing Club, the track is equipped with its own Railway Station. A major regional racing venue, it is located in Breakwater Road, East Geelong, 75km south-west of Melbourne and hosts some 35 race meetings every year.

The oval-shaped turf track has a 2043m circumference, is around 24m wide and has a 400m straight, which is on a slight incline. A roomy track with lingering straights and sweeping turns, most runners will settle into a rhythm and run well here. The track’s versatile synthetic surface, which sits inside the course proper, allows for all-weather racing and is considered a great wet venue. It measures, 1858m, by 16m, by 332m.

The site has received numerous upgrades to both the track and facilities, most recently the installation of a third grandstand.

If you fancy a Geelong Cup bet, join Sportsbet now and check out the 2014 Geelong Cup odds.

Most Successful at Geelong Cup

Craig Williams is the most successful jockey in recent history, with four wins since 2000, including back-to-back in 2006-2007. Damian Oliver and Kerryn McEvoy have ridden two winners in that time.

The names of international super stars Dunaden, Americain, Media Puzzle and Mandela are itched alongside home-grown champions on the winner’s board of the Geelong Cup. Leica Ding, grey legend Bauer, The Fuzz, South Australian stayer On A Jeune, Pacific Dancer and Zazzman have all claimed victory on the country track.

Irish-bred, but Australian based steeplechase champion Karasi, winner of three consecutive Nakayama Grand Jumps in Japan – the richest steeplechase race in the world – won the Geelong Cup in 2001.

If you fancy a Geelong Cup bet, join Sportsbet now.