2017 Formula One season


Formula 1

If you can’t play guitar and be a rock star, then a teenager’s next biggest dream is usually driving an F1 car. It’s the pinnacle of sport and technology. Plus, if you’ve got a mug like Lewis Hamilton, you can still pull a crowd of screaming women without the accompanying rock-star hangovers. Not to mention, you’ll make a stack of cash, $30 million for the highest-paid driver, Fernando Alonso, at last count. Dads, it’s clear: start your son with a Ferrari pedal car, not a guitar.

Fast-forward to Formula 1 2017 and it’s never been more exciting, with new rules and regulations bringing the cars ever closer together in specs. Where once it was a battle of manufacturers, it’s now becoming more of a battle amongst drivers, especially between 2013 Champion and Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel and Aussie newcomer Daniel Ricciardo. And the fans are the winners. Formula 1 2017 is shaping up to be very exciting to watch, which makes for great Formula 1 odds. So get into gear and check out our Formula 1 betting options!

Formula 1 BBQ Facts

  • From 2014, each car has a 100kg fuel limit per race, and with it, fuel flow is limited to 100kg per hour.
  • The maximum number of World Championship points still available to a single driver is 400.
  • For 2014, it’s bye bye V8s. Cars now use a hybrid unit with their 1.6-litre V6 turbo engine that uses electricity recovered from braking and exhaust to help power them, offering an extra 120kW of power, so it really is ‘bye bye’ V8s!

What dates are the Formula 1 season?

The 2017 Formula 1 season runs from 26th March 2017 - 26th November 2017

Latest Formula 1 odds

Formula 1 World Champions

Below are a list of previous Formula One World Champions:

Season Driver Team Points
2016 Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 385
2015 Lewis Hamilton (ENG) Mercedes 381
2014 Lewis Hamilton (ENG) Mercedes 384
2013 Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull 397
2012 Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull 281
2011 Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull 392
2010 Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull 256
2009 Jenson Button (GBR) Brawn 95
2008 Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren 98
2007 Kimi Räikkönen (FIN) Ferrari 110
2006 Fernando Alonso (SPA) Renault 134
2005 Fernando Alonso (SPA) Renault 133
2004 Michael Schumacher (GER) Ferrari 148
2003 Michael Schumacher (GER) Ferrari 93
2002 Michael Schumacher (GER) Ferrari 144
2001 Michael Schumacher (GER) Ferrari 123
2000 Michael Schumacher (GER) Ferrari 108

Do you think you can predict who will be named the 2017 F1 World champion this year then why not check out the latest F1 odds here!

What happened in the 2013 Formula 1?

Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel successfully defended his World Championship, becoming the third driver in Formula 1’s 64-year history to win four consecutive World Drivers’ Championships. Ricciardo is hot on his heels, though. Watch this space.

If you fancy a Formula 1 bet, join Sportsbet now and check out the Formula 1 odds.