Moonee Valley Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival


Cox Plate

Mooney Valley | 2040m | Group 1 | Weight-for-age | $3,000,000Saturday, 28th October 2017

The W.S. Cox Plate is the most prestigious weight-for-age race in Australia and one of the 'big three' meetings held during Melbourne's Spring Carnival. The race is named after William Samuel Cox, the founder of the Mooney Valley Racing Club, and has been held every spring since 1922. The race is run at Mooney Valley over 2040m and has total prizemoney worth $3,000,000 - which isn't a bad day's work!

The Cox Plate is affectionately known as 'the race where legends are made' and it's easy to see why with many of Australia and New Zealand's greatest ever gallopers featuring on the winners list, including: Phar Lap, Rising Fast, Tulloch, Tobin Bronze, Kingston Town (who holds the record for most Cox Plate wins with 3), Might and Power, Sunline, Notherly and So You Think.

If you're gearing up for a flutter on the Cox Plate, there are a couple of things to keep in mind. The Mooney Valley track is renowned for being tight and having a very short straight, meaning when they turn for home the winner is normally right in the mix. In terms of form, the Underwood Stakes is the perfect lead-up race for the Cox Plate, so be sure to factor that into reckoning.

Winners of the Cox Plate

Below is a list of Cox Plate Winners and Cox Plate runners up in the past few years:

Year Winner Second Third Time
2016 Winx Hartnell Yankee Rose 2:06.35
2015 Winx Criterion Highland Reel 2.02.9
2014 Adelaide Fawkner Silent Achiever 2:03.76
2013 Shamus Award Happy Trails Fiorente 2.05.27
2012 Ocean Park All Too Hard Pierro 2:04.1
2011 Pinker Pinker Jimmy Choux Rekindled Interest 2:05.3
2010 So You Think Zipping Whobegotyou 2:07.4
2009 So You Think Manhattan Rain Zipping 2:03.9
2008 Maldivian Zipping Samantha Miss 2:06.9
2007 El Segundo Wonderful World Haradasun 2:06.3
2006 Fields Of Omagh El Segundo Pompeii Ruler 2:06.9
2005 Makybe Diva Lotteria Fields Of Omagh 12:09.3
2004 Savabeel Fields Of Omagh Starcraft 2:06.9
2003 Fields Of Omagh Defier Lonhro 2:07.6
2002 Northerly Defier Grandera 2:06.3
2001 Northerly Sunline Viscount 2:05.8
2000 Sunline Diatribe Referral 2:07.7

If you would like to bet on the Cox Plate, see the latest Cox Plate Odds and place a bet with Join us now if you haven't got an account and get in on the action!

Cox Plate Fast Facts

  • Only one horse has won the Cox Plate in the same year as the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup: Kiwi galloper Rising Fast in 1954 (if it was a horse – our money’s on cyborg).
  • Know your big Cox Plate wins. In 2000 Sunline stormed back from seven lengths to win at the post, while the legendary Kingston Town dominated in the early ’80s, winning three Cox Plates in a row.
  • The race is known as the ‘greatest two minutes in sport’, a sort of one-up on the Kentucky Derby, which was dubbed the ‘fastest two minutes in sport’. Take that, Colonel Sanders.

If you fancy a Cox Plate bet, join Sportsbet now and check out the Cox Plate odds.