2017-18 Ashes Series


Boxing Day Test

Christmas Day is about kindness, the act of giving and spending time with your loved ones. Boxing Day is about watching the Aussies absolutely smash another country to bits in the cricket (unless you're one of those nutjobs who loves fighting complete strangers over a discounted pair of shoes). What better way to kick off the festive season than to see Aussie quicks dish out a bit of chin music or cart blokes all over the G'? Yes! Whether you're in bay 13 downing beers with Bobby Hawke or on the couch taking a load off (and let's face it, you've probably earnt it), there's just nothing better than the Boxing Day Test.

The Boxing Day Test is played annually at Melbourne's MCG and dates back to 1950. The first Test to actually start on Boxing Day was in 1974 when Australia drew with the Poms, though it wasn't until 1980 that it became a regular fixture in the Aussie sporting calendar. Since then it has grown into something of an institution and has seen many great moments, including Vyv Richards' double ton in '84, some amazing spells of bowling by Curtley Ambrose, Dayle Steyn, Bruce Reid and Mitchell Johnson, a packed G' chanting 'Warney! Warney! to the king of spin after he took his 700th wicket, and who could forget Darrell Hare no-balling Murali seven times? 'Ohhhhhhhhh... NO BALL!' In short, the Boxing Day Test encapsulates everything we love about Aussie cricket.

Latest Boxing Day Test odds

Past Boxing Day Test Match Winners

Below is a list of the past Boxing Day Test matches and winners.

Year Opposition Result Boxing Day Crowd Total Attendance
2014 India Draw 69,993 194,481
2013 England Australia won by 8 wickets 91,112 271,865
2012 Sri Lanka Australia won by an innings and 201 runs 67,138 137,455
2011 India Australia won by 122 runs 70,068 189,347
2010 England England won by an innings and 157 runs 84,345 240,156
2009 Pakistan Australia won by 170 runs 59,206 156,267
2008 South Africa South Africa won by 9 wickets 63,263 174,246
2007 India Australia won by 337 runs 68,465 166,663
2006 England Australia won by an innings and 99 runs 89,155 244,351
2005 South Africa Australia won by 184 runs 71,910 192,337
2004 Pakistan Australia won by 9 wickets 61,552 129,079
2003 India Australia won by 9 wickets 62,613 179,662
2002 England Australia won by 5 wickets 64,189 177,658
2001 South Africa Australia won by 9 wickets 61,796 153,025
2000 West Indies Australia won by 352 runs 73,233 133,299

Who do you think will win this years 2015 Boxing Day Test match? If you would like to join Sportsbet.com.au in order to join in on the Boxing Day Betting, click on now Join Now today!

Facts about the Boxing Day Test

  • A 1998 rain-interrupted match against England featured the longest single day’s play in Test history.
  • In 2006, 89,155 packed the MCG to watch Shane Warne claim his 700th Test wicket (Andrew Strauss, England).
  • In 1995, umpire Darrell Hair no-balled Sri Lankan off-spinner Muttiah Muralidaran seven times in three overs for bowling with a bent arm.

If you fancy a Boxing Day Test bet, join Sportsbet now and check out the Boxing Day Test odds.