Get a First Bet Bonus up to $100 (excl VIC,NSW,WA,SA) Find out more

New to Sportsbet? Join Now

Get a First Bet Bonus up to $100 (excludes VIC, NSW, WA, SA)

Bet Slip Bet Slip Help

Australian Open Golf Betting

26th November - 29th November 2015

Australian Open Golf Betting

The origins of the ‘golf clap’ are largely unknown… but it could be that a member of the royal family, Prince Charles, with his big ears, was quite sensitive and became startled with a loud applause. Poor Charles. However, this round of ‘deliberately quiet applause, considered appropriate during a golf tournament’ certainly couldn’t have originated during the Australian Open. For a tournament with a ‘special’ status in the Official World Golf Ranking’s points system, it’s surely worthy of a more celebratory gesture than the underwhelming ‘golf clap’.

The penultimate event on the 2015 PGA Tour of Australasia, the Australian Open will happen in November and will see the world’s best golfers compete at the Australian Golf Club in Sydney. The field is always world class, so odds will be well worth a look. Since the first championship in 1904, the Open has evolved from a backyard event to being rated by the likes of Nick Faldo, Raymond Floyd and Jack Nicklaus as the world’s fifth Major. The silverware is impressive too – the coveted Stonehaven Cup. Tee off with Australian Open betting today! Cue applause.

Facts about the Australian Open Golf

  • In 2009, Queenslander Adam Scott lifted the Stonehaven Cup for the first time, presented to him by his childhood hero, Greg Norman. We wonder if he asked for a ride on his boat.
  • The Champion gets their name engraved on original Stonehaven Cup, which remains in the Golf Australia Museum, and a gold medal. The champion also holds a replica Stonehaven Cup for one year.
  • The prize money for 2015’s Open is set at $1.75 million.

Register Now to Join Sportsbet

Winners of the Australian Open

Below are the previous winners of the Australian Open Golf.

Year Winning Team Country Course
2014 Jordan Spieth USA The Australian Golf Club, Sydney
2013 Rory McIlroy Northern Ireland The Royal Sydney Golf Club
2012 Peter Senior Australia The Lakes Golf Club
2011 Greg Chalmers Australia The Lakes Golf Club
2010 Geoff Ogilvy Australia The Lakes Golf Club
2009 Adam Scott Australia New South Wales Golf Club
2008 Tim Clark South Africa Royal Sydney Golf Club
2007 Craig Parry Australia The Australian Golf Club
2006 John Senden Australia Royal Sydney Golf Club
2005 Robert Allenby Australia Moonah Links
2004 Peter Lonard Australia The Australian Golf Club
2003 Peter Lonard Australia Moonah Links
2002 Stephen Allan Australia Victoria Golf Club
2001 Stuart Appleby Australia The Grand Golf Club
2000 Aaron Baddeley Australia Kingston Heath Golf Club

If Australian Open Golf betting is your thing, why don't you join today!

What happened in the 2013 Australian Open Golf?

Australians have won the majority of tournaments in recent years, but in 2013 it was young Northern Irish player Rory McIlroy who took home the silverware!

If you fancy a Australian Open Golf bet, join Sportsbet now and check out the Australian Open Golf odds.


Australian Open Golf Bonus Bet

Not a member of and looking to punt on the Australian Open Golf? Then pick up a Australian Open Golf bonus bet with

We’re offering a bonus bet of up to $100* on your initial deposit! Click “Join Now” and take advantage of this great offer today and claim your Australian Open Golf Bet!

All you need to do is:

  • Click on Join Now
  • Sign up using the Registration page
  • Deposit some funds
  • Receive your Bonus Bet offer
  • And we will offer you a bonus bet up to $100*

*Terms and Conditions: This bonus bet up to $100 offer is exclusive to this page and banner only. Gamble Responsibly. Bonus bet excludes residents of VIC, NSW, WA, SA. If you have any questions or queries, please call our customer service on 1800 990 907.