Get a First Bet Bonus up to $100 (excl VIC,NSW,WA,SA) Find out more

New to Sportsbet? Join Now

Get a First Bet Bonus up to $100 (excludes VIC, NSW, WA, SA)

Bet Slip Bet Slip Help

Australian Open 2016

18th January - 31st January 2016

Australian Open betting

Australian Open Betting

The Australian Open is one of the hottest tennis tournaments in the world (not metaphorically, literally!) The temperature on-court has been known to hit over 50 degrees Celsius. So, when Aussies say it’s going to be a ‘scorching summer of tennis’ they’re not speaking in euphemisms. As one of the four ‘Majors’, the Australian Open is the ‘Grand Slam of Asia Pacific’. While Australia’s remoteness meant very few foreign players entered this tournament in the early 20th century (the trip by ship from Europe to Australia took about 45 days) it now attracts players from all over the world.

Despite the heat, the Australian Open typically has very high attendance, second only to the US Open, with the Rod Laver Arena and Hisense Arena equipped with retractable roofs. The conditions are notoriously hard on the players, but with a record $30 million on offer in the Australian Open 2016 – the biggest prize purse in the history of tennis – players don’t mind sweating to get a piece of the action.

When is the Australian Open Tennis

The Australian Open in 2016 will be held from January 18th until January 31st.

Australian Open BBQ Facts

  • Heat causes the tennis balls to shrink and expand, making them react differently, which can cause problems for players during a match.
  • Around 48,000 tennis balls are used at the tournament every year.
  • To-date Serena Williams has won the most Australian Open titles (in the 'Open Era') with winning 6 finals since 2003.

Register Now to Join Sportsbet

The Australian Open is a part of the ATP World Tour Season and WTA World Tour Seasons with players scoring the highest number of ranking points to go on to play in their respective finals for the world #1 men's and women's rankings.

Australian Open Winners

Below are previous Australian Open Winners.

Event Champion Runner-Up Score
2015 Men's Singles Novak Djokovic Andy Murray 7–6(7–5), 6–7(4–7), 6–3, 6–0
2015 Women's Singles Serena Williams Maria Sharapova 6–3, 7–6(7–5)
2014 Men's Singles Stanislas Wawrinka Rafael Nadal 6–3, 6–2, 3–6, 6–3
2014 Women's Singles Li Na Dominika Cibulková 7–6(7–3), 6–0
2013 Men's Singles Novak Djokovic Andy Murray 6–7(2–7), 7–6(7–3), 6–3, 6–2
2013 Women's Singles Victoria Azarenka Li Na 4–6, 6–4, 6–3
2012 Men's Singles Novak Djokovic Rafael Nadal 5–7, 6–4, 6–2, 6–7(5–7), 7–5
2012 Women's Singles Victoria Azarenka Maria Sharapova 6–3, 6–0
2011 Men's Singles Novak Djokovic Andy Murray 6–4, 6–2, 6-3
2011 Women's Singles Kim Clijsters Na Li 3-6, 6-3, 6-3
2010 Men's Singles Roger Federer Andy Murray 6-3, 6-4, 7-6
2010 Women's Singles Serena Williams Justine Henin 6–4, 3–6, 6-2
2009 Men's Singles Rafael Nadal Roger Federer 7-5, 3-6, 7-6, 3-6, 6-2
2009 Women's Singles Serena Williams Dinara Safina 6-0, 6-3
2008 Men's Singles Novak Djokovic Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 4-6, 6-4, 6-3, 7-6
2008 Women's Singles Maria Sharapova Ana Ivanovic 7–5, 6–3
2007 Men's Singles Roger Federer Fernando Gonzalez 7-6, 6-4, 6-4
2007 Women's Singles Serena Williams Maria Sharapova 6-1, 6-2
2006 Men's Singles Roger Federer Marcos Baghdatis 5-7, 7-5, 6-0, 6-2
2006 Women's Singles Amelie Mauresmo Justine Henin-Hardenne 6–1, 2-0
2005 Men's Singles Marat Safin Lleyton Hewitt 1-6, 6-3, 6-4, 6-4
2005 Women's Singles Serena Williams Lindsay Davenport 6-2, 3-6, 6-0
2004 Men's Singles Roger Federer Marat Safin 7-6, 6-4, 6-2
2004 Women's Singles Justine Henin-Hardenne Kim Clijsters 6–3, 4-6, 6-3
2003 Men's Singles Andre Agassi Rainer Schuettler 6-2, 6-2, 6-1
2003 Women's Singles Serena Williams Venus Williams 7-6, 3-6, 6-4
2002 Men's Singles Thomas Johansson Marat Safin 3-6, 6-4, 6-4, 7-6
2002 Women's Singles Jennifer Capriati Martina Hingis 4–6, 7-6, 6-2
2001 Men's Singles Andre Agassi Arnaud Clement 6-4, 6-2, 6-2
2001 Women's Singles Jennifer Capriati Martina Hingis 6-4, 6-3
2000 Men's Singles Andre Agassi Yevgeny Kafelnikov 3-6, 6-3, 6-2, 6-4
2000 Women's Singles Lindsay Davenport Martina Hingis 6-1, 7-5

Place a bet on the Australian Open today, and pick who you think will win the Australian Open!

What happened in the 2014 Australian Open?

Li Na won the women’s singles, beating Dominika Cibulkova. Stanislas Wawrinka defeated Rafael Nadal in the men’s singles final to win his first Grand Slam title. Oh, and did we mention it was really, really, really, really hot?

If you fancy a Australian Open bet, join Sportsbet now and check out the Australian Open odds.


Australian Open Bonus Bet

Not a member of and looking to punt on the Australian Open? Then pick up a Australian Open bonus bet with

We’re offering a bonus bet of up to $100* on your initial deposit! Click “Join Now” and take advantage of this great offer today and claim your Australian Open Bet!

All you need to do is:

  • Click on Join Now
  • Sign up using the Registration page
  • Deposit some funds
  • Receive your Bonus Bet offer
  • And we will offer you a bonus bet up to $100*

*Terms and Conditions: This bonus bet up to $100 offer is exclusive to this page and banner only. Gamble Responsibly. Bonus bet excludes residents of VIC, NSW, WA, SA. If you have any questions or queries, please call our customer service on 1800 990 907.