Get 2 bets for the price of 1 up to $100(ex Vic & NSW) Find out more

New to Sportsbet?

Get a First Bet Bonus
up to $100 (ex VIC & NSW)

Bet Slip Bet Slip Help

Australian Grand Prix

Australian Grand Prix Betting - 16th March 2014

Australian Grand Prix

The heart racing, adrenaline fuelled Formula 1 2014 hits Melbourne on the 13th – 16th March 2014. Australia holds host to the Australian Grand Prix 2014 series, accompanied by a Swarm of support categories, on and off the track. The fastest cars on the planet will roar, but the crowd will roar louder! Will you back the Aussie — Daniel Ricciardo —in Australian Grand Prix betting, or is the 3-time Australian Grand Prix winner, McLaren-Mercedes’ Jenson Button, too strong to bet against?

Facts about Australian Grand Prix

  • 1985 was the year that the Australian Grand Prix became part of the Formula 1 World Championship.
  • Formula 1 cars can go from zero to 160 km/h and back to zero in just 4 seconds!
  • The top F1 crew members are able to change tyres as quickly as 4 seconds.
  • Michael Schumacher achieved the record time of 1:24.125 in 2004 at the Melbourne Grand Prix.

Australian Grand Prix 2014

The The first race of the Formula One Calendar!


Where: Albert Park, 65 Queens Road, Melbourne , VIC, Australia

Go on, have a Australian Grand Prix bet!

Check out the latest Australian Grand Prix betting odds by clicking Australian Grand Prix odds below.

Not got a Sportsbet account? Simply click Join Now and place a bet on this event.

Australian Grand Prix

The scenic Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit is home to the Australian Grand Prix — the first leg of the Formula 1 World Championship. This intensely exciting race attracts an international audience, who all desire to view the world’s fastest cars, geared up with the latest in technological innovation. The Aussie audience is just as passionate, and as the oldest surviving Australian motor race reaches its 78th start, there is hope that one of the two Aussie drivers — Mark Webber and Daniel Ricciardo — will take the lead. Regardless, with five world champions on the grid, there are sure to be standard-setting speeds to enjoy.

The Average speed on the track is set at 225 km/h and top speeds are around 300 km/h. The 307.57 km race has had some blistering past set on it, but Michael Schumacher in 2004 hit the record time completing the distance in 1:24.125.

On and off the track there’s a host of excitement surrounding the main event including off track events like Nitro Circus, Royal Australian Air Force aerial displays, and music stages. On track are the V8 Supercars, Porsche Carrera Cup and the infamous Mazda6 Celebrity Challenge.

Join Now
Australian Grand Prix BettingJoin today and take your pick on who is going to be crowned the 2014 F1 World Champion!

Sportsbet offers a range of F1 betting on both the driver’s and constructors championships, as well as many more. Click here to find out more.

Australian Grand Prix Winners

Below are the previous winners of the Australian Grand Prix:

Year Driver Team
2012 Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren-Mercedes
2011 Sebastian Vettel (GER) Red Bull
2010 Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren-Mercedes
2009 Jenson Button (GBR) Brawn-Mercedes
2008 Lewis Hamilton (GBR) McLaren-Mercedes
2007 Kimi Räikkönen (FIN) Ferrari
2006 Fernando Alonso (SPA) Renault
2005 Giancarlo Fisichella (ITA) Renault
2004 Michael Schumacher (GBR) Ferrari
2003 David Coulthard (GBR) McLaren-Mercedes
2002 Michael Schumacher (GBR) Ferrari
2001 Michael Schumacher (GBR) Ferrari
2000 Michael Schumacher (GBR) Ferrari
1999 Eddie Irvine (GBR) Ferrari
1998 Mika Häkkinen (FIN) McLaren-Mercedes
1997 David Coulthard (GBR) McLaren-Mercedes
1996 Damon Hill (GBR) Williams-Renault

If you think you can predict who will be named the Australian Grand Prix 2014 winner this year then why not check out the latest Australian Grand Prix odds!

Australian Grand Prix 2014 -

Australian Grand Prix Teams

Those in the know about Formula 1 betting suggest that there will be some close racing in 2014. The teams with more dosh will be slightly ahead of the pack, due to 2014 regulation design changes requiring resources to be drawn away from the 2014 field. Still, it is likely that the wins will be shared amongst three or four of the best teams, rather than diffused as much as they were during 2012. Sebastian Vettel heads the F1 favourite line-up, while Fernando Alonso, Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton are hot on his heels.

The Australian Grand Prix odds are on Button to pull through for the win again this year, having won three out of the last four Albert Park races. His main rivals for the position are Vettel, Alonso, Kimi Raikkonen and Mark Webber.

Australian Open Grand Prix 2014 -

Australian Grand Prix Circuit

The Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit in Melbourne is situated close to the city centre, but at the same time, is surrounded by beautiful parkland. The specially constructed circuit has held the event since 1996; prior to landing in Melbourne, Adelaide hosted the F1. The circuit itself rests on a picture perfect backdrop in the Melbourne landscape—contrasting beautifully with a mixture of spectacular parkland, artificial lakes and fields of emerald. The track winds clockwise for 5.303 km, around the gorgeous Albert Park Lake, and after 58 laps, the view is a sight enjoyed by all. In fact, the picturesque Albert Park track has been imitated by many of the newest tracks along the Formula 1 world tour route, including Abu Dhabi, Singapore and Valencia—a testament to its popularity.

The circuit is considered a smooth, fast track, and drivers claim that it is easy to learn; however, the lack of long straights and some challenging corners means that Albert Park circuit creates an exciting race foundation. The track has 16 corners and the speeds vary between high, medium and low-speed corners.